EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop

Kindly sponsored by ThinkPenguin

Other online articles

News

02 mar 2016: EOMA68 15.6in Libre Laptop Prototype fully assembled

Finally the casework has been fully assembled. Chamfering the bamboo panels worked successfully as potentially anticipated: the edges are held together strongly enough with bolts to compress the panels rigidly into place. Several revisions have had to be made: the original idea of using slot-in clips for the USB stick compartment was too detailed and flimsy, so a rotating "lock" was created instead that is part of the touchpanel holder. The friction hinges seem to be working well: an overnight test had the screen still held at a steep angle without falling down.

One extremely interesting suggestion was received, which is worth investigating: the rear side of the laptop is perfect for fitting solar panels. With the DC power jack having a 2-way contact switch, it may be extremely simple to have solar charging built-in to the laptop, as an optional extra.

Overall, although there are some minor final changes to be made, the casework is basically ready and it can go to crowdfunding very shortly.

Posted Wed Mar 2 12:43:43 2016

Archive

EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop casework completed
Posted Wed Mar 2 12:43:43 2016

laptop 15in pics.tgz
Posted Wed Mar 2 12:11:45 2016

EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop bamboo panels
Posted Fri Feb 5 13:42:03 2016

EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop partially assembled
Posted Wed Jan 20 16:29:51 2016

EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop parts pre assembly
Posted Tue Jan 19 15:00:19 2016

EOMA68 Libre 15.6in Laptop Prototype PCBs first boot
Posted Sun Jan 3 17:39:24 2016

Boards walkthrough post wiring
Posted Sun Jan 3 14:06:55 2016

Component walkthrough pre assembly
Posted Sun Jan 3 13:58:04 2016

PCB2 video prototype keyboard demo
Posted Sat Jan 2 15:48:10 2016

PCB2 prototype functional keyboard matrix
Posted Sat Dec 26 22:09:50 2015

Chicony keyboard matrix reverse engineering
Posted Thu Dec 24 19:43:17 2015

PCB1 LCD operational 14dec2015
Posted Mon Dec 14 21:42:31 2015

PCB2 prototype progress 10dec2015
Posted Thu Dec 10 16:34:42 2015

PCB1 LCD semi operational 01dec2015
Posted Tue Dec 1 15:51:05 2015

PCB3 prototype arrives 15oct2015
Posted Sat Oct 17 09:25:30 2015

PCB2 prototype progress 14oct2015
Posted Thu Oct 15 18:10:26 2015

PCB2 prototype progress 05oct2015
Posted Mon Oct 5 12:56:25 2015

PCB1 prototype progress 26sep2015
Posted Sun Sep 27 16:04:02 2015

PCB Revision 1 prototype 17sep2015
Posted Thu Sep 17 18:11:31 2015

PCB Revision 1 design progress 20 Aug 2015
Posted Thu Aug 20 16:54:42 2015

Casework first prototype completed images 07 Aug 2015
Posted Fri Aug 7 19:14:01 2015

Casework first prototype completed 07 Aug 2015
Posted Fri Aug 7 17:12:46 2015

Casework progress 09 July 2015
Posted Thu Jul 9 14:50:31 2015

Casework progress 05 July 2015
Posted Sun Jul 5 17:24:54 2015

Casework progress July 2015
Posted Wed Jul 1 20:22:28 2015

Casework progress video June 2015
Posted Wed Jul 1 20:22:28 2015

PCB1 Support
Posted Thu Jun 4 10:26:26 2015

Casework progress June 2015
Posted Tue Jun 2 17:53:48 2015

Casework progress May 2015
Posted Thu May 14 17:06:59 2015

2nd revision progress
Posted Mon May 4 11:31:37 2015

Specifications Developed
Posted Tue Jan 13 23:00:21 2015

Casework progress
Posted Tue Jan 13 23:00:21 2015